Print Page   |   Sign In
OCCNS Leadership & Staff
  • Chair Person: Jane Sawall, RN, MS, MPH, CNS-BC
  • Executive Group Member: Sherri Atherton, RN, MS, CNS, CIC
  • Executive Group Member: Ann Herbage Busch, RN, MS, CWOCN, ACNS-BC, CNS-PP, FAAN
  • Executive Group Member: vacant
  • Executive Group Member: Polly Hansen, RN, MN, CCRN, PCCN
  • Immediate Past Chair: Sue B. Davidson, PhD, RN, CNS

Leadership Bios

Jane Sawall, MS, MPH, RN, CNS-BC

Jane Sawall, RN, MS, MPH, CNS-BC, began her CNS practice in the Emergency Department. Initially, she had a joint appointment at Rogue Valley Medical Center and faculty at OHSU in Community and Public Health undergraduate program. From 2005-2013, she enjoyed a leadership as a CNS in the ED and is now a CNS at Asante in Southern Oregon. She is currently the Chair of OCCNS and was also the chair in 2006-2008.

Sue B. Davidson, PhD, RN, CNS
Immediate Past Chair, Oregon Council of Clinical Nurse Specialists

Sue Davidson, PhD, RN, CNS, is the Chair of Oregon Council of Clinical Nurse Specialists. She began her career as a CNS on the Metabolic Unit at City of Hope, and in 1978, as faculty at OHSU in the Adult Health and Illness undergraduate and graduate programs. Sue has been the senior research assistant in a Research Utilization grant. In 1999, she became the Assistant Executive Director of the Professional Services Program at Oregon Nurses Association until her retirement in 2013. She also serves on the Bylaws Committee of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists.


Sherri Atherton, RN, MS, CNS, CIC
Executive Member
Sherri Atherton has been an RN since 1985 and a clinical nurse specialist at the Portland VA Medical Center since 1994. She has been in the Infection Prevention Program for 20+ years and is currently the Director. She is active in hospital interdisciplinary committees and was the past Magnet Program Director. She led the Portland VA to Magnet Designation in 2006 and Redesignation in 2010. She also serves in professional organizations such as Oregon Nurses Association, Oregon Council of Clinical Nurse Specialists, the Association of Professionals in Infection Control, and the Health Ministry Council at her community church. She was honored to be selected Clinical Nurse Specialist of the Year by the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists in 2007.
Ann Herbage Busch, RN, MS, CWOCN, ACNS-BC-PP, FAAN
Executive Member
Ann Busch has been a clinical nurse specialist (CNS) since 1985. She returned to Oregon in 1995 to develop the Liver Transplant CNS role for the Portland VA Medical Center and has functioned in this position since that time. Her CNS practice includes direct patient care with prescriptive authority as well as the traditional CNS components.

Ann is on the national VA Transplant Surgical Advisory Board; is active in professional organizations; speaks internationally; publishes; and has received the NACNS's CNS of the Year Award, AMSUS/Society of Federal Health Agencies Clinical Nursing Excellence Award, and Under Secretary for Health Award for Excellence in Transplant Care Practice. Ann is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing.
Polly Hansen, RN, MN, CCNS, CCRN, PCCN
Executive Member

Polly Hansen is a Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist at Legacy Health. She has 15 years of experience as a CNS. She graduated from Emory University with a Master of Nursing degree; a specialty in cardiovascular adult health and a minor in management. Her BSN was obtained from Missouri Southern University. Her primary responsibilities are focused on nursing practice and patient outcomes in the cardiovascular intensive care environment. She leads multidisciplinary system initiatives focusing on Lean process methodologies and is an active member of several local and national nursing organizations. Her most recent work includes co-chairing the committee on chronic illness for NACNS. A native of the Midwest, she’s practiced in regions of the South, Southeast, West coast and the Northwest. She and her husband have three children and currently live in Portland, OR. She is a sports enthusiast and enjoys the outdoors.



Privacy Policy

Oregon Nurses Association
18765 SW Boones Ferry Rd. Suite 200, Tualatin, OR 97062
(503) 293-0011 or 800-634-3552 (Oregon Only)