Print Page   |   Sign In
ONA 2011-2012 Friends of Nursing

The Oregon Nurses Association is proud to announce our Friends of Nursing recipients from the 2011 and 2012 Legislative sessions. This award recognizes the top 20% of legislators that took a lead role in promoting ONA’s legislative agenda. There are many other good lawmakers that have great voting records for nursing that aren’t reflected on this list.

2011 Legislator of the Year

Sen Laurie Monnes Anderson (D-Gresham)

Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson, Chair or the Senate Health Care Committee, successfully passed ONA’s key priorities including a workable approach to influenza vaccinations, payment parity for Nurse Practitioners, and the implementing language for Oregon’s health transformation effort out of committee. As the only Registered Nurse in the legislature, she has continued to seek ONA’s guidance on issues and fight for the good causes that impact nurses and the patients they serve. Over the past two session, Senator Monnes Anderson has voted with ONA and nurses 100% of the time.

Sen. Laurie Monnes Anderson, left, and ONA Executive Director, Susan King, RN.

2011 Friends of Nursing

  • Sen Lee Beyer (D-Springfield)
  • Sen Peter Courtney (D-Salem)
  • Sen Richard Devlin (D-Tualatin)
  • Sen Jackie Dingfelder (D-Portland)
  • Sen Jeff Kruse (R-Roseburg)
  • Sen Diane Rosenbaum (D-Portland)
  • Sen Bruce Starr (R-Hillsboro)
  • Rep Peter Buckley (D-Ashland)
  • Rep Michael Dembrow (D-Portland)
  • Rep Margaret Doherty (D-Tigard)
  • Rep Mitch Greenlick (D-Portland)
  • Rep Val Hoyle (D-Eugene)
  • Rep John Huffman (R-The Dalles)
  • Rep Bob Jenson (R-Pendleton)
  • Rep Bill Kennemer (R-Oregon City)
  • Rep Tina Kotek (D-Portland)
  • Rep Arnie Roblan (D-Coos Bay) 

2011 Rising Stars

ONA recognizes the potential of promising first-term lawmakers with a Rising Star for Nursing award. This award signifies that nurses appreciate their efforts during their first session and look forward to working with them in the years to come.

  • Rep Wally Hicks (R-Grants Pass)
  • Rep Julie Parrish (R-West Linn)

Hall of Fame

  • Sen. Cliff Trow 1975-2002
  • Sen. Lenn Hannon 1975-2004
  • Rep. Jackie Taylor 1991-2000
  • Rep. Mike Lehman 1995-2000
  • Rep. Bob Montgomery 1995-2000
  • Rep. Kitty Piercy 1995-2000
  • Sen. Verne Duncan 1995-2002
  • Rep. Floyd Prozanski 1995-2000 & 2003
  • Rep. Barbara Ross 1995-2000
  • Rep. Judy Uherbelau 1995-2000
  • Rep. Randy Leonard 1995-2002
  • Rep. Dan Gardner 1997-2002
  • Rep. Tim Knopp 1999-2004
  • Sen. Tony Corcoran 1995-2004
  • Rep. Gary Hansen 1999-2006
  • Rep. Jeff Merkley 1999-2008
  • Sen Ben Westlund 1997-2008
  • Sen. Kate Brown 1991-2008
  • Sen. Rick Metsger 1999-2010

Privacy Policy

Oregon Nurses Association
18765 SW Boones Ferry Rd. Suite 200, Tualatin, OR 97062
(503) 293-0011 or 800-634-3552 (Oregon Only)