Print Page   |   Sign In
ONA’s Kelly Goudreau Receives NACNS Brenda Lyon Leadership Award

Congratulations to ONA’s Kelly Goudreau, RN, DSN, ACNS-BC, for earning the Brenda Lyon Leadership Award at the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists’ Annual Conference, held this year in Portland, Ore. on March 4-6. Kelly Goudreau earned the award through her hard work and leadership within NACNS and throughout the field of nursing.

Kelly Goudreau, right, receives the Brenda Lyon Leadership Award from Brenda Lyon, left.

As explained at the NACNS conference: "Kelly Goudreau served as the voice for all CNSs over the past several years as NACNS’s representative in the APRN consensus work group and the Joint Dialogue group responsible for designing the new model for future regulation of APRN practice. She commanded the respect of her peers and other nursing organizations because of her ability to remain focused on the issues of critical importance to CNSs and on attainment of an optimal future for CNSs.

Kelly remains undaunted in the face of controversy, listens to all points of view and speaks without hesitation as the advocate for the CNS community. A visionary leader, she recognized the need for and developed 'A Vision for the Future of Clinical Nurse Specialists' released by NACNS in 2007.

Her contributions to NACNS are numerous. In addition to serving as Board member (2004-05), Secretary (2005-06) and President (2006-07), she has been a member of the NACNS Education Committee and the chair of the Oregon Council of CNSs.

She has served on the ANCC Commission on Certification and is a program evaluator for the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). Along with past Lyon Award winners Dr. Brenda Lyon and Dr. Janet Fulton, she co-edited the newest CNS textbook, Foundations of Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice. Currently she is co-chair of a taske force convened by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing and NYU Hartford Institute to develop adult-gero CNS competencies."

Kelly is currently director of education at Portland VA Medical Center and a clinical resource nurse at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center in Portland.

This award recognizes an individual for extraordinary leadership in service to NACNS. Winners demonstrated strong leadership to advance the mission and strategic goals of the organization, promotes leadership in others and supports the development of new leaders.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Brenda Lyon, a founding member, and second President, who has been the chair and co-chair of the Legislative/Regulatory Committee, and generously gives of her time as a volunteer representative of NACNS in many important national meetings in which NACNS is a stakeholder. Brenda co-authored the first model regulatory language and the 1998 Statement on Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice and Education, and authored several key articles about regulation and certification of CNSs. She testified at the Federal Trade Commission about regulatory barriers to CNS practice. She has invested her time and resources in countless ways to advance NACNS and clinical nurse specialist contributions to the health of the nation.

Go to the NACNS website to learn more about the organization and see the other awards presented at the conference


Privacy Policy

Oregon Nurses Association
18765 SW Boones Ferry Rd. Suite 200, Tualatin, OR 97062
(503) 293-0011 or 800-634-3552 (Oregon Only)