Print Page   |   Sign In
2018 Election Endorsements

ONA’s Political Action Committees have endorsed these pro-nursing candidates based on a variety of factors including, voting record, support for nurse issues and overall alignment with ONA values and priorities.

Listed below are the candidates that have been endorsed by ONA's PACs at this point. You will find the position, candidate name and a short description about why the ONA PACs chose to endorse each candidate.

More endorsements will be posted as they are determined by the PACs.


Kate Brown

Governor Brown has been serving as Oregon’s Governor since February of 2015 where she has successfully helped pass, Oregon’s Nurses Week, the Cover All Kids bill to ensure that every Oregon child can access health care, Paid Sick Days legislation and Oregon’s “motor voter” bill to register 300,000 Oregonians to vote using their license information. Prior to running for public office, Brown practiced family and juvenile law, served for 17 years in the state legislature and for seven years as Oregon’s Secretary of State.

Oregon Labor Commissioner

Val Hoyle

Val Hoyle was appointed to the Oregon Legislature in 2009 and served three full terms representing the West Eugene, Junction City and Cheshire areas. Hoyle’s professional background includes working in small business, and serving as the director of the 100% access initiative for United Way of Lane County, which brought together health care and community leaders together to provide affordable and accessible health care to the people of Lane County. Hoyle also previously served as Oregon House Majority Leader from 2013-2015 and was a strong advocate for nurses and labor.

 U.S. Congressional Races

Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici
CD 1 (Washington County)

Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamicci has served in Washington DC since her special election in 2012, and was most recently reelected again in 2016. In Congress, Bonamicci has been an advocate for nursing issues such as safe staffing, increase access to mental and oral health care, and investing in research institutions such as the National Institutes of Health. Prior to serving in Congress, Congresswoman Bonamicci practiced law, specializing in representing small businesses, and served in the state legislature for six years.

State Senate and House of Representatives

HD 37:
Rachel Prusak
(D - West Linn/Tualatin)

Rachel Prusak, MSN, APRN, FNP-C is an ONA member and Board Certified Registered Nurse, who has cared for people and has worked on the front lines of healthcare. In addition to providing care in Oregon, Rachel has provided emergency care in places like Louisiana after Hurricane Katrina, has worked in rural communities across the country to ensure access to primary and preventative services, and has helped Senior Citizens and disabled Oregonians stay in their homes so that they may live their healthiest lives. Rachel formerly served on ONA’s PAC board where she brought her expertise and advocacy to Salem, testifying in front of the legislature and rallying around issues ranging from corporate transparency to safe nurse staffing.

 2018 Friends of Nursing Awards/Endorsements

Following the 2017-18 Legislative Sessions, ON-PAC selected the following legislators to receive Friends of Nursing Awards in recognition of their outstanding leadership and support for ONA’s legislative agenda. These awards honor legislator commitment to improving nursing practice, patient care and public health outcomes and come with an endorsement for each of their campaigns for re-election.

  • ONA Hall of Fame: Senator Richard Devlin – SD 19 (Lake Oswego) Retired from the legislature after the 2017 session.
  • ONA Legislator of the Year: Representative Mitch Greenlick – HD 33 (Portland)
  • ONA Rising Star: Senator James Manning – SD 7 (Eugene)
  • ONA Rising Star: Representative Sheri Malstrom – HD 27 (Beaverton)
  • HD 8 (Eugene): Rep. Paul Holvey
  • HD 13 (Eugene): Rep. Nancy Nathanson
  • HD 16 (Corvallis): Rep. Dan Rayfield
  • HD 22 (Woodburn): Rep. Teresa Alonso Leon
  • HD 36 (Portland): Rep. Jennifer Williamson
  • HD 39 (Oregon City): Rep. Bill Kennemer
  • HD 42 (Portland): Rep. Rob Nosse 
  • HD 44 (N/NE Portland): Speaker of the House, Rep. Tina Kotek
  • HD 53 (Sunriver): Representative Gene Whisnant (Retired from the legislature after the 2018 session)
  • SD 6 (Springfield) Sen. Lee Beyer
  • SD 8 (Corvallis): Sen. Sara Gelser
  • SD 17 (NW Portland): Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward
  • SD 21 (Portland): Sen. Kathleen Taylor
  • SD 23 (SE Portland): Sen. Michael Dembrow
  • SD 25 (Gresham/Troutdale): Sen. Laurie Monnes Anderson

 2018 Legislative Endorsements

  • SD 15 (Hillsboro) Sen. Chuck Riley
  • SD 19 (Lake Oswego) Sen. Rob Wagner
  • HD 5 (Ashland) Pam Marsh
  • HD 10 (Newport) Rep.David Gomberg
  • HD 14 (Eugene) Rep. Julie Fahey
  • HD 29 (Hillsboro) Rep. Susan McLain
  • HD 30 (Hillsboro) Rep. Janeen Sollman
  • HD 34 (Beaverton) Rep. Ken Helm
  • HD 38 (Lake Oswego) Rep. Andrea Salinas
  • HD 40 (Oregon City) Rep. Mark Meek
  • HD 41 (Milwaukie) Rep. Karin Power
  • HD 43 (NE Portland) Rep. Tawna Sanchez
  • HD 45 (NE Portland) Rep. Barbara Smith Warner
  • HD 46 (NE Portland) Rep. Alissa Keny-Guyer
  • HD 47 (East Portland) Rep. Diego Hernandez
  • HD 48 (Happy Valley) Rep. Jeff Reardon
  • HD 49 (Gresham) Rep. Chris Gorsek
  • HD 50 (Gresham) Rep. Carla Piluso
  • HD 51 (Clackamas) Rep.Janelle Bynum

 Multnomah County Commissioner

  • Chair: Commissioner Deborah Kafoury
  • District 2: Susheela Jayapal

Privacy Policy

Oregon Nurses Association
18765 SW Boones Ferry Rd. Suite 200, Tualatin, OR 97062
(503) 293-0011 or 800-634-3552 (Oregon Only)